Photo of the Day

I was totally surprised and both honored and thrilled that a photo I took was picked as The Photo of the Day for November 15, 2009, by dailyQi.com which describes itself as “an independent English language e-magazine with an Asian focus.”   The photo they picked  which I called “Beautiful Form”  is below:

The photo was taken along the Little Miami River in John Bryan State Park, Yellow Springs, Ohio. 

The photo can also be viewed on my Flickr page:  http://www.flickr.com/photos/frted/4104241660/  where it is part of several different of my photo sets (which you can also view through the link to my Flickr page).

While I usually go on my photo safaris alone, when I took the above photo I had invited a parishioner, Mike P, to go for a walk and he had to patiently endure my stopping to photograph things.  unbeknownst to me, he took on his iPhone a picture of me photographing along the banks of the river:

photo2

A picture of me is not award winning material and probably falls under the category of  what Daniel Boorstin labels a “pseudo-event” photo.

9 thoughts on “Photo of the Day

  1. Christopher Engel

    I’d like to thank Mike for proving that you actually do own clothing in a color other than black ;-)

    As for your photography being noticed, I’m not surprised. You really do take some nice flicks. I’ve been meaning to ask you what your equipment is, because they turn out very, very nicely.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.