In Memoriam: Fr. Tom Hopko

TomHopko (2)Yesterday,  Fr. Tom Hopko fell asleep in the Lord.  Many encomiums will be written rightfully extolling his service to the Church.  Deserving eulogies will be offered to appropriately honor him.  I can only say that he had a profound impact on my life as a child – he was my parish priest from when I was age 9 to about age 14 when he moved to New York.  He then initiated a correspondence when I was about 18 and had wandered away from the church.  It was that correspondence which led me back to the church and then into seminary.  My life as a priest thankfully resulted from his taking time to talk with me.  Through the years following seminary I can’t say I kept in close contact with Fr. Tom, but his words and wisdom were and are foundational to my life.  I am grateful to him and also to his family who had to share him with so many others.  May he now rest with the saints.

 And I heard a voice from heaven saying,

“Write this: Blessed are the dead who die in the Lord henceforth.”

“Blessed indeed,” says the Spirit, “that they may rest from their labors, for their deeds follow them!” 

(Revelations 14:13)

One thought on “In Memoriam: Fr. Tom Hopko

Leave a Reply

