Traveling with Cancer

As I compose this post, I’m in the hospital recovering from the lung resection surgery.   The malignant tumor and the lower right lobe of my lung were successfully removed.  Recovery from this surgery is, as I was amply warned before surgery, painful.  Pain meds help with the coping and managing of my  health care issues.  They also challenge my writing and typing skills.

While the May 19th operation, the lobectomy, was successful, the surgery also discovered that the cancer has already spread to my lymph nodes.  All 8 lymph nodes sent to pathology turned out to be cancerous.  The removal of the cancerous lobe has not gotten the cancer out of my body.  The cancer had progressed faster than was apparent from the various techno-scans done prior to surgery.  So the fight with cancer moves to a new level, one the cancer has chosen.

I went into surgery thinking I had Stage 1 cancer, but came out of surgery knowing that I already have Stage 3 lung cancer.  I will soon be going to an oncologist to discuss further treatment.  The prayers of so many friends and strangers helped me get through the surgery and have put me on the road to recovery from that surgery.

Despite the surgery successfully removing the malignant tumor, the larger goal of getting the cancer out of the body was not achieved.  Somehow the medical technology was not able to fully diagnose the extent of the problem.

None of this changes the basic fact: We all are always in God’s hands.  Sometimes he takes us places we don’t wish to go (John 21:18).  However, God always loves us and beckons us to join Him at the wedding feast of His Son, Jesus Christ.  Over the next months I will write from time to time about this sojourn and the new traveling companion who will be with me every step of the journey.  Life is a road with unexpected twists and unanticipated turns which do not allow you to see what is ahead.  We are to traverse on it anyway.  And for Christians, we are to do it with joy.

Rejoice always, pray constantly, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you. (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18)

9 thoughts on “Traveling with Cancer

  1. I only learned about this upon seeing this post in my reader just now. Your previous essay from our Cuyahoga Valley, which I’ve just now seen too, is quite beautiful. I’m very sorry that the news has turned a bit grim.

    I pray the best for you, Father. May God grant you joy in your sojourn.

  2. Julie cridland

    Dear father Ted , I have enjoyed your posts and have been both encouraged by your teaching and photography . I join my prayers to the many others during your time of suffering . With love from South australia

  3. Aven and I both you will be praying for your recovery and are so sorry you will have to endure further treatment. Aven also reviewed for me the symbology of the Dogwood and Christ. And this spring we had a glorious display of the dogwoods her in Ohio. For 5 years or so we would go on the bike ride from Columbus to Portsmouth on Mother’s Day Weekend and looked forward to seeing the trees at their peak of display.

  4. Deacon Alban

    Dear in Christ Father Ted

    Just a wee note to let you know that you are in our thoughts and prayers over here in England.

    May God grant you every good grace and blessing that you need to sustain and increase your faith, hope and love at this time.

    Thank you for taking the time and effort to share this part of your journey. I pray that God will grant you the joy of knowing how much your words mean to so many others.

    Love and prayers

    In Christ

    Father Deacon Alban

  5. Ellen Soroka

    Dear Fr. Ted,
    May God be with you and give you the strength you need. Please know that there are many who are praying for you, including me.

    With love in Christ,
    Ellen Soroka

  6. Gary and Theresa Gamon

    Father Ted,
    I am the cousin of Donna Bobosh. Both my husband and I have been praying for you since we heard of your diagnosis, and will continue we assure you.
    We must say how beautiful your blog was and how it gave us the strength to face our daily challenges. Your expressions of courage and faith truly prove your love for God.
    Blessings to you Fr. Ted,
    Gary and Theresa Gamon 🙏🏻
    Uniontown, PA

  7. Steve and Denise Gresh

    Fr. Ted,

    You have been and will always remain in our thoughts and prayers. May God strengthen and comfort you and your family in the days ahead.

    Deacon Steve and Denise

Leave a Reply

