Blessing God Who Gives and Who Takes Away

The events of the last few months, regarding my health, have been somewhat a blur.  Some things have moved very fast, faster than I’ve ever experienced with the medical profession.  And the news has kept me on the edge of my seat – It’s not going to be all that bad.  It’s worse than expected.  You are Stage 1 lung cancer.  No, it’s Stage 3.  No, its Stage 2.  No, it is Stage 3 lung cancer.

I’ve been asked by numerous people how I’m taking this rollercoaster ride.  The uncertainty of it all as so many note is as trying as is what is actually known.

What comes to mind is the long-suffering Job’s own words:

 “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return; the LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.”(Job 1:21)

We bless God and declare God’s Kingdom blessed not only in times of prosperity.

One, of course, has to be a little detached from immanent events not to be swept away by them.   I’m very thankful for the nurturing care and love so many have shown to me to help bring me to healing.  As one friend said a few years ago, we have to take away all the obstacles to healing, and then God can heal us.  My friends, through prayer and love and nurturing care, have helped to remove so many obstacles.  The surgeon did his job and the medical staff all did theirs.  Now God works with and through those who love Him.

One thought on “Blessing God Who Gives and Who Takes Away

Leave a Reply

