Thirsting for Righteousness

“The key for many of my secular friends is to understand this pathway has been the clarification of our thinking around ‘value’ and ‘virtue’. Arete, virtue, for the ancients including the Church Fathers who lived in and through the Greek language, carries within it the sense of our longing and quest for excellence and our in-born righteousness (Heb. tsedeq and tsedaqah  ‘justice’ implying a restoration). For the ancients sharpness was the arete of a knife and strength the arete of the boxer. For the Church Fathers compassion was the arete of human nature. We were created to be in love. We come to know ourselves in love and we come to know the world, with ourselves in it but not at the center of it, in cosuffering love. This is the personal experience of the communion the Church articulates in its teaching on the Trinity: the divine communion that is at once creative, incarnate and the ‘Life of life.’” (David J. Goa in Freedom to Believe by Archbishop Lazar Puhalo, pp i-ii)

St  Patrick of Ireland (d. 461AD) prayed:

“I bind to myself today God’s power to guide me,

God’s might to uphold me,

God’s wisdom to teach me,

God’s eye to watch over me,

God’s ear to hear me,

God’s word to give me speech,

God’s hand to guide me,

God’s way to lie before me,

God’s shield to shelter me,

God’s host to secure me…”

(Breastplate of St  Patrick of Ireland, Prayer Book – In Accordance with the Tradition of the Eastern Orthodox Church, Kindle Loc 184-188)

3 thoughts on “Thirsting for Righteousness

  1. Ah, it is a grand old prayer and Anglican/Episcopalian hymn. Listen to it here: “https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gxA2zOSAuxc&index=1&list=RDgxA2zOSAuxc”” (copy and past into your browser – without the quotation marks)
    It is rarely sung in the USA unless the church is named for St. Patrick or Sunday is St. Patrick’s day. I last sang it over 25 years ago when on a business trip I attended a small church in Chicago for a Sunday service. I can’t remember there being a choir. The Hymn was on the schedule but at the start nobody was singing it except for me a gentleman in the same pew as me. We boomed it out as best we could as we both knew it well.
    Brad Miter

  2. Pingback: Thirsting for Righteousness | OrthodoxPost.com

Leave a Reply

