The Lord Turned My Mourning into Dancing

Yesterday morning, I had my first CT Scan since completing the chemotherapy.  The scans will be done vigilantly every few months for the next several years to search for any sign of the cancer returning.  Yesterday afternoon, I received a call from the oncologist’s office that the scan found no sign of cancer.  This was the hoped for news, and it brought joy to my heart.  Of course this scan was done but a few short weeks after the chemotherapy, and so I was expecting good news.  Thanks be to God!   At least for the next few months I can be thankful for the good news I received today.

PSALM 30

The Blessedness of Answered Prayer

I will extol You, O LORD, for You have lifted me up,
And have not let my foes rejoice over me.
O LORD my God, I cried out to You,
And You healed me.
O LORD, You brought my soul up from the grave;
You have kept me alive, that I should not go down to the pit.

Snapchat--5070913981403405956

Sing praise to the LORD, you saints of His,
And give thanks at the remembrance of His holy name.
For His anger is but for a moment,
His favor is for life;
Weeping may endure for a night,
But joy comes in the morning.

Now in my prosperity I said,
“I shall never be moved.”
LORD, by Your favor You have made my mountain stand strong;
You hid Your face, and I was troubled.
I cried out to You, O LORD;
And to the LORD I made supplication:
“What profit is there in my blood,
When I go down to the pit?
Will the dust praise You?
Will it declare Your truth?
Hear, O LORD, and have mercy on me;
LORD, be my helper!”

You have turned for me my mourning into dancing;
You have put off my sackcloth and clothed me with gladness,
To the end that my glory may sing praise to You and not be silent.
O LORD my God, I will give thanks to You forever.

Note that as in Psalm 103, the Lord’s anger does not last forever, but only for a moment.   Here we see that God is love.  Unlike some of us who are angry all the time and keep grudges and never forget or forgive, God does not stay angry or displeased forever.

The Lord Jesus taught:

“But if you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them.  And if you do good to those who do good to you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners do the same.  And if you lend to those from whom you hope to receive back, what credit is that to you? For even sinners lend to sinners to receive as much back.  But love your enemies, do good, and lend, hoping for nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High. For He is kind to the unthankful and evil.

Therefore be merciful, just as your Father also is merciful.”  (Luke 6:32-36)
One thought on “The Lord Turned My Mourning into Dancing

Leave a Reply

