Star Wars at Christmas

In case some feel I don’t mention contemporary topics often enough, I am able this year to tie together two of the big events of the season – the release of the new Star Wars movie, The Force Awakens,  and Christmas.  The Star Wars frenzy will certainly add a jolt to the U.S. economy this season which will be welcomed by the those who can capitalize on it.

I was at the Franklin Park Conservatory in Columbus, Ohio, where they were hosting a gingerbread house competition.  One of the creations took advantage of the movie to tie it together with the season.  “Silent Night, Jedi Knight” was the name of this really sweet creation:

23228915960_d82bc640fb

And for a dramatic close-up to capture the lightsaber rattling action:

23442223021_4a4098e55d

If you need music to get you in the Star Wars mood:  Yoda!

Being more of a pacifist, my favorite gingerbread scene was bit more pastoral:

It isn’t very Christmasy-seasonal, but having a garden scene constructed from candy and gingerbread (the bales of hay in the shed are shredded wheat – I thought that a really neat touch) caught my fancy.   Mostly because I’d be willing to skip winter and get to spring.   Some warn me, of course, that global warming will give me my wish.

Leave a Reply

