Glory to God for All Things Ode 11 Illustrated

Akathist:  “Glory to God for all Things”   

by Russian Orthodox Metropolitan Tryphon (+1934)

See Ode 10

Ode 11

Across the cold chains of the centuries,

I feel the warmth of Your breath; I feel Your blood pulsing in my veins.

Part of time has already gone, but now You are the present.

I stand by Your cross; I was the cause of it.

I cast myself down in the dust before it.

Here is the triumph of love,

 the victory of salvation.

Here the centuries themselves cannot remain silent, singing Your praises: Alleluia!

IKOS 11

Blessed are they that will share in the King’s banquet;

but already on earth You give me a foretaste of this blessedness.

 How many times with Your own hand have You held out to me Your Body and Your Blood,

and I, though a miserable sinner,

have received this Sacrament,

and have tasted Your love, so ineffable, so heavenly!

Baptism

Glory to You for the unquenchable fire of Your grace.

Glory to You, building Your Church, a haven of peace in a tortured world.

Glory to You for the life-giving water of baptism in which we find new birth.

Glory to You, restoring to the penitent purity white as the lily.

Glory to you for the Cup of Salvation and the Bread of eternal joy.

Glory to You for exalting us to the highest heaven.

Glory to You, O God, from age to age.

Next Ode 12

2 thoughts on “Glory to God for All Things Ode 11 Illustrated

  1. Pingback: Glory to God for All Things Ode 10 Illustrated « Fr. Ted’s Blog

  2. Pingback: Glory to God for All Things Ode 12 Illustrated « Fr. Ted’s Blog

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.