Hummingbird Moths

Hummingbird Moths, aka Clearwing Moths, have intrigued me since I first noticed them a couple of years ago.  And I have photography to thank for noticing them, for I had taken my camera on a walk through a wild flower garden when this distinct motion in the midst of the flowers attracted my attention.

When I first one darting about some wildflowers I really did think it was some kind of mini-hummingbird.  I tied unsuccessfully to photograph it the few times I saw it over the past 5 years.   But they seemed notably camera shy and zoomed off as I tried to take aim with the camera.

I saw them very infrequently, and there seemed to be just one and then I would see no more of them.  While walking through a wildflower field at Caesar Creek Lake, I again saw one who escaped my photography effort, but then I noticed there were a couple of them.

So I got my opportunity to take a few photographs of the Hummingbird Moth, and am sharing the photos with you.  On my level of photography it is triumph.

I never even heard of these Clear-wing Moths in my first 55 years of life.  But once I caught a glimpse of one, I wanted to photograph one but they seemed elusive.   To get a few pictures of them, I felt a photographic achievement.

I find so many things in nature which cause me to marvel.  The diversity of life is astounding.

You can find links to all of my photo blogs at My Photoblogs.

The Hummingbird Moth photos are part of my set of photos from Ceasar Creek Lake and you can view the complete set of photos on Flickr account at  Caesar Creek Lake July 2013.

See also my blog  A Caesar Creek Park Walk for other photos of hiking around the Lake.